ASE AM

Class Description

The Adult Student Education (ASE) program at the Worcester Adult Learning Center will prepare you to take the Hi-SET or GED test. Students will have the opportunity to work collaboratively in groups, as well as challenge themselves with independent study. Subjects include:

 

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Digital Literacy

Book 1:1 Meeting: https://walc-ase-am.appointlet.com/b/donna-roberson

Teacher
Donna Roberson
Teacher Email
droberson0913@gmail.com
Teacher Bio

Donna Roberson has been a journalist at various New England media outlets for 15 years. She has worked as an editor, writer and web producer. She enjoys teaching adult education classes and challenging students to improve their writing and math skills, pass the high-school equivalency exam and move on to the next phase of their lives. 

Class Lesson Files Links View More
Thursday, April 11 - Economics - Productivity and Interdependence
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Things I Have Done
view
Wednesday, April 10 - What is a Coordinate Plane? view
Wednesday, April 10 - Economics - Monopoly, Competition and Profit
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Things I Like
view
Tuesday, April 9 - Economics - Money and Financial Institutions
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Things I Am Good At
view
Wednesday, April 3 - Economics - The Government's Role
  1. READ: Why Goal Setting Works
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Why Goal Setting Works Worksheet
  3. READ: About Setting Goals
  4. READ: Setting SMART Goals
view
Tuesday, April 2 - Economics - Industrialization and Imperialism view
Thursday, March 28 - Economics - Economic History
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Elevator Pitch Worksheet
view
Wednesday, March 27- Economics - The Labor Market
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Today's Labor Market
view
Tuesday, March 26 - Introduction to Economics
  1. READ: Supply and Demand Worksheet
view
Wednesday, March 20 - Earth - Climate Change view
Wednesday, March 20 - Probability
  1. EXPLORE: Probability
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Probability Worksheet 1
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Probability Worksheet 2
  4. ANSWERS: Probability Worksheets
view
Tuesday, March 19 - Earth - Natural Resources view
Thursday, March 14 - Data Jeopardy view
Wednesday, March 13 - Earth - Interaction Between the Earth's Systems view
Tuesday, March 12 - Earth - Plate Tectonics view
Wednesday, March 6 - Earth Unit -- Earth's Composition view
Wednesday, March 6 - Mean, Median and Mode
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Word Problems
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Practice
  3. READ: Mean, Median, Mode Definitions
view
Thursday, February 29 - Earth Unit - The Oceans view
Wednesday Feb 28 - Volume
  1. Volume of Rectangles Worksheet and Answers
  2. Volume of Triangles Worksheet
  3. Volume of Cylinder Worksheet
  4. Triangle and Cylinder Answers
view
Wednesday, February 28 - Earth Unit - The Atmosphere view
Thursday, Feb. 15 - More Circles view
Wednesday, Feb. 14 - Argument Writing
  1. READ: Argument Writing Guide
view
Wednesday, February 14 - Geometry - Circles view
Thursday, Feb. 8 - Geometry - Pythagorean Theorem
  1. LESSON A: Pythagorean Theorem
  2. LESSON B: Pythagorean Theorem
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Pythagorean Theorem Worksheet 1
  4. ASSIGNMENT: Pythagorean Theorem Worksheet 2
  5. ASSIGNMENT: Pythagorean Theorem Worksheet 3
  6. ANSWERS: Pythagorean Theorem
view
Thursday, Feb. 8 - Roaring 20s & Depression - The Dust Bowl view
Wednesday, Feb. 7 - 1920s & Depression - Wall Street Collapses view
Tuesday, Feb. 6 - Roaring 20s & Depression - World Events II view
Thursday, Feb. 1 - Roaring 20s & Depression - World Events I view
Wednesday, Jan. 31 - Roaring 20s & Depression - A Changed World view
Tuesday, Jan. 30 - Roaring 20s & Depression - Culture view
Wednesday, Jan. 24 - Cells - Cellular Respiration
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Mitosis and Meiosis
  2. ANSWERS: Mitosis and Meiosis
view
Tuesday, Jan. 23 - Cells - Plant Structure view
Thursday, Jan. 18 - Cells - Distinguishing Between Cells
  1. Animals vs. Plants
view
Wednesday, Jan. 17 - Cells - Cell Structure and Function view
Tuesday, Jan. 16 - Cells - Introduction to Cellular Theory view
Wednesday, Jan. 10 - Angles Jeopardy view
Tuesday, Jan. 10 - Henrietta Lacks - Writing a Personal Narrative
  1. READ: What is a Personal Narrative?
view
Wednesday, Jan. 3 - Angles and Triangles
  1. GUIDE: Basic Geometric Terms
  2. LESSON: Angles
  3. WORKSHEET: Angles
  4. ANSWERS: Angles
  5. LESSON: Angle Relationships
  6. WORKSHEET: Angle Relationships
  7. ANSWERS: Angle Relationships
  8. LESSON: Triangles
  9. WORKSHEET: Triangles
  10. ANSWERS: Triangles
view
Tuesday, Jan. 2 - Henrietta Lachs - Jim Crow Laws view
Thursday, Dec. 21 - The Gift of the Magi view
Wednesday, Dec. 20 - Matter - Final Project view
Tuesday, Dec. 19 - Chemical Reactions and Matter view
Thursday, Dec. 14 - Physical and Chemical Properties of Matter
  1. Assignment: Chemical and Physical Properties
  2. Check Yourself: Properties Answers
view
Wednesday, Dec. 13 - The Periodic Table of Elements
  1. Assignment: Elemental Symbols
  2. Check Yourself: Elemental Symbols Answers
view
Tuesday, Dec. 12 - Introduction to Matter, Elements and Atoms
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Everyday Compound Or Poison?
view
Tuesday, Dec. 12 - When To Use Commas
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Comma Exercises
view
Thursday, Dec. 7 - Percent Jeopardy view
Wednesday, Dec. 6 - Real World Percents
  1. LESSON: Percent of Change
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Percent of Change
  3. ANSWERS: Percent of Change
  4. ASSIGNMENT: Simple Interest (Answers Included)
view
Tuesday, December 5 - Scientific Method - Experimental Design
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Controlled Experiments
  2. ANSWERS: Controlled Experiment
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Variables
  4. ANSWERS: Variables
view
Thursday, November 30 - The Scientific Method - Creating a Hypothesis view
Thursday, Nov. 30 - Solving Percents
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Percent Word Problems
  2. ANSWERS: Percent Word Problems
view
Wednesday, Nov. 29 - Introduction to Percents
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Decimals and Percents
  2. ANSWERS: Decimals and Percents
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Fractions and Percents
  4. ANSWERS: Fractions and Percents
view
Wednesday, November 29 - The Steps of the Scientific Method
  1. ASSIGNMENT: The Scientific Method
  2. ANSWERS: The Scientific Method
view
Tuesday, November 28 - Introduction to the Scientific Method view
Wednesday, Nov. 15 - Decimals
  1. Adding Decimals Worksheet
  2. Subtraction Decimals Worksheet
  3. Multiplying Decimals Worksheet
  4. Dividing Decimals Worksheet
view
Thursday, Nov. 9 - Adding and Subtracting Fractions
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Adding and Subtracting Fractions
  2. ANSWERS: Adding and Subtracting Fractions
view
Wednesday, Nov. 8 - Multiplying and Dividing Fractions
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Multiplying Fractions
  2. ANSWERS: Multiplying Fractions
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Dividing Fractions
  4. ANSWERS: Dividing Fractions
view
Wednesday, Nov. 8 - Writing About Free Speech - Note Taking
  1. Free Speech Graphic Orgaizer
view
Tuesday, Nov. 7 - Introduction to Fractions
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Comparing Fractions
  2. ANSWERS: Comparing Fractions
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Reducing Fractions
  4. ANSWERS: Reducing Fractions
view
Tuesday, Nov. 7 - Writing About Free Speech - Vocabulary
  1. ASSIGNMENT: Free Speech Vocabulary
view
Thursday, Nov. 2 - Ratio/Proportion Jeopardy view
Tuesday, Oct. 31 - Writing About Free Speech
  1. ASSIGNMENT: What is Free Speech?
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Taking Notes - Graphic Organizer
view
Thursday, Oct. 26 - Civics - Final Project view
Wednesday, Oct. 25 - Ratio and Proportion
  1. LESSON: Ratios
  2. LESSON: Proportions
  3. LESSON: Ratios and Proportions Working Together
  4. ASSIGNMENT: Ratio/Proportion Worksheet 1
  5. ASSIGNMENT: Ratio/Proportion Worksheet 2
  6. ANSWERS: Ratio/Proportion Worksheets
view
Wednesday, Oct. 25 - Civics- Public Policy view
Tuesday, Oct. 24 - Civics - Individual Rights And Responsibilities view
Thursday, Oct. 19 - Civics - The Three Branches of Government view
Wednesday Oct. 18 - Area Practice
  1. What is Area?
  2. ASSIGNMENT: Area of Circles
  3. ASSIGNMENT: Area of Circles 2
  4. ANSWERS: Area of Circles
  5. ASSIGNMENT: Area of Triangles
  6. ASSIGNMENT: Area of Triangles 2
  7. ANSWERS: Area of Triangles
  8. ASSIGNMENT: Real-World Area Problems
  9. ASSIGNMENT: Real-World Area Problems 2
  10. ASSIGNMENT: Real-World Area Problems 3
  11. ANSWERS: Real-World Area Problems
view
Wednesday, Oct. 18 - Civics - US Government view
Tuesday, Oct. 17 - Civics - Types of Government view
Thursday, Oct. 12 Genetics - Genetic Variations
  1. ASSIGNMENT: DNA Worksheet
  2. ANSWERS: DNA Worksheet
view
Wednesday, Oct. 11 - AREA & PERIMETER
  1. Area of Rectangles
  2. Rectangle Answers
  3. Area of Triangle 1
  4. Area of Triangle 2
  5. Triangle Answers
view
Wednesday, Oct. 11 - Genetics -Darwin and Evolution view
Tuesday, Oct. 10 - Genetics - Probability of Traits view
Tuesday, Oct. 3 - Genetics - Basic Principles view
Tuesday, Sept. 19 - Parts of Speech
  1. Parts of Speech Table
  2. Parts of Speech Practice
view
EXTRA: Suggested Reading view
Wednesday, Sept. 6 - Reading Comprehension - Chunking view
Tuesday, Sept. 5 - Reading Comprehension view
EXTRA: MULTIPLICATION CHARTS
  1. Multiplication Chart
  2. Multiplication List
view